So what follows is going to be the Top 10 “Unseen” movies on my Flickchart list. This means a couple of different things.

Flickchart keeps track of global rankings, insomuch as the percentage of times a film beats another film. So, for instance, Star Wars is the number one best ranked film in all of Flickchart because it wins 77% of the time.

Now there is also the “Unranked” category, and this simply means I haven’t told Flickchart either that I’ve seen it or haven’t. There are bound to be many movies that fall into either category in this list, but in the past year I have used this list to garner more movies seen (1706 currently, which I think is a small number) and rankings given, or clicks, which is 6111.

So what are the Global Top 10 Movies I haven’t seen? I don’t know. Let’s find out.

10. Paths of Glory

This is a 1958 war film with Kirk Douglas and directed by a young Stanley Kubrick. My father, to whom I owe most of my film history, is not big on Kubrick. That explains, a bit, why I haven’t seen it. But it’s time. And I also lied to a coworker last week about seeing it. Go figure.

9. The Treasure of the Sierra Madre. John Huston films? We don’t need no stinkin’ John Huston films. I’m sure it’s awesome though. Bogie? Come on.

8. Full Metal Jacket. Late Kubrick. See #10.

7. A Clockwork Orange. Seeing a pattern here?

6. Night of the Hunter. One of those that just slipped by. Love Laughton. Love Mitchum. I’m an idiot.

5. Apocalypse Now. This isn’t true. I saw it a month ago for my Independent Study. But to go back and edit now would be pointless, right?

4. Blade Runner. I don’t know how this has never passed by my eyes.

3. The Apartment. Ditto for this. I often call Billy Wilder my favorite director, and it won Best Picture for God’s sake.

2. The Third Man. Orson Welles. Mystery. I’m there. Just not yet.

1. Seven Samurai. It’s like 7 hours long. But I love The Magnificent Seven. It’ll happen one day.

 

