Just as I had said with The Lord of the Rings many posts ago, this is a movie I define as “a movie that shows why we make movies.” It has everything you could want from a film. There’s humor, there’s adventure, there’s passion, there’s scope, there’s battle. It may be one of the most anachronistic and historically inaccurate films ever made, but that doesn’t stop it from being so near and dear to my heart. Mel Gibson, before he revealed to the world that he was crazy, directed his second movie ever and it was pretty much perfect. It was written by a first-time scribe, Randall Wallace. Again, James Horner’s score is exemplary, and I recall many teenage days just listening to the score and dreaming the movie in my mind. I still tear up every time the last track plays, and I hear Wallace’s “freedom” cry in my head.

It’s hefty running time never feels it, and the passion that went into the film is totally visible on screen.

Braveheart has been my favorite movie for most of my life. I still love it. I will always love it. I even got a nice birthday present this year when I flipped channels in my hotel and discovered it on.

But tides shift. Things change.

The king is dead. Long live the king.

